The Writing Process

by flashmemoria

Posted by: Chris

I am presently writing the formalized script for our presentation of Circle at the symposium on Saturday (8:45 in the morning?  On a Saturday?!!).  Actually getting the thing started was uncharacteristically difficult for a guy that usually just sits down and produces.  I had to remind myself of Aristotle’s natural sequence of recollection (yes, I actually did that; no, it is not for blog-brownie points; yes, it felt a little weird).  Now that I’ve got a working draft, I have to stop myself from thinking too hard about whether I’m supposed to essentially write the exact same thing all over again when it comes time to hand in the paper.  I can see light at the end of the tunnel, but does that light cure or kill?  Is it the uplifting sense of peace in looking back and acknowledging that while this class kicked my ass up down and sideways, I really did learn (and even internalize) a thing or two of real value, or is it just the grossly incandescent lustre of my monitor boring a hole through my retinas?

photo