Presentating

by flashmemoria

Posted by: Chris

I am aware that “presentating” is not precisely a word.  I used all the words up getting things ready this past week, so to produce any further blog posts, I’ll have to cobble together new words out of whatever lexical refuse I have lying about the place.  Because I’m less of a “capture-every-moment-on-film” and more of “just-live-your-damn-life-through-your-own-eyes” sort of fellow, I took very few photographs during the class wrap-up/dinner party chez-Marcel and the final symposium that followed two days afterward.

photo (2)

For reasons that presently escape me, I felt the need to sit right up and front with the presenters whilst they presented the final iterations of their projects and sampled some of the theoretical underpinnings intended to anchor both the final presentations and the final papers.  Ah, hold on, I do remember why.  It had been a long, long day, and nothing was going to separate me from the softest couch in the house.  That and I wanted a good view of everybody’s work.  Everybody did such good work, you see.  Nobody tried to shoehorn a papier mâché volcano into the class about memory, which was simultaneously a relief and a disappointment.  I’m sure it would have been a very creative paper.

 

photo (1)

The symposium was admittedly long (I’ve never been to anything where there were as many as 20 presentations, let alone 30), but satisfying and productive, though I have very little memory of the hour leading up to my arrival, since it transpired at a time of day for which I am only awake during the gravest of emergencies.

All that remains now is to produce a somewhat more formal version of my theoretical treatment of the course readings in relation to our project.  Since most of the work is already done, it should not take too long.  Perhaps I’ll have a few more things to say on this blog before that’s done.